Wright-Phillips sets Red Bulls' scoring mark

Down a goal late in the first half but plenty of time to rethink their strategy for the second half the Red Bulls dominated by scoring four goals with two each by Thierry Henry and Bradley Wright-Phillips. The game was tied in the 53rd minute on a fabulous cross from Eric Alexander to the middle of the park and a diving header by Henry beats Evan Bush to equalize the game.

Then the second came fourteen minutes later as Dax McCarty found Henry wide along the near side and a shot which screened the keeper hits the inside of the far post and into the back of the net to give the Red Bulls the lead. But Henry wasn’t finished yet as it was his turn to help Bradley Wright-Phillips tie a club record since 2007.

Peguy Luyindula had the ball near the midfield circle and finds Henry along the near side. Then it was a quick slotted pass to an oncoming Wright-Phillips who pulls Evan Bush off his line and then curls it inside the near post for his nineteenth of the season, in the 74th minute. The crowd went crazy and it looked like that might be all for the golden boot leader.

But in second half stoppage time Luyindula would be the one to help Wright-Phillips to not only smash the record, but convert his 20th of the season and confirm the full three points before their next match in international cup competition. For the first time in MetroStars/New York Red Bulls history this club finally has on record a 20 goal scorer in one season.

Giovanni Savarese never did it, Clint Mathis never got a chance for it, only Juan Pablo Angel came the closest to that moment in his first season in MLS. Bradley Wright-Phillips is the man who holds this record and now has a chance to get into MLS history to reach the record of 27 goals held by both Chris Wondolowski of the San Jose Earthquakes and the original record holder in the early years of MLS in former Tampa Bay Mutiny striker Roy Lassiter. Ten games are left, let’s see what happens.

Author: Daniel Feuerstein

No comments:

Post a Comment